Memorial Hospital

Memorial Hospital Foundation

Memorial Hospital Foundation (MHF) supports Memorial Hospital in its commitment to meet the health needs of the Mt. Washington Valley and surrounding communities by serving with our community partners in the provision of accessible, comprehensive, compassionate and quality health care. Memorial Hospital was founded in 1910 through the generosity of Helen Bigelow Merriman, who donated 25 acres of land on which the Hospital is located today. When you give to MHF, you are supporting strong, local health care – both today and in the future.

Established in 2013, MHF is incorporated under the laws of the State of New Hampshire as a non-profit charity. MHF shares some board members with the hospital, with a distinct focus to raise and manage charitable funds on behalf of the hospital. MHF provides resources for equipment, programs and services that benefit patients and help to keep our community healthy. MHF accomplishes its goals through activities and events throughout the year. Many donors who support MHF do so because they have experienced exceptional care at Memorial Hospital. MHF facilitates giving in a way that helps donors accomplish their philanthropic goals and meet the needs of the hospital.

MHF was founded as a separately incorporated tax exempt organization under IRS rules. The formation of MHF was an important part of the hospital’s consideration in becoming a member of MaineHealth. We are governed by a board of trustees, and we are focused on the following primary purposes:

  • To serve as the fundraising arm for Memorial Hospital
  • To serve as steward for Memorial Hospital’s endowment

MHF is a supporting foundation, which means that any distributions we make, or any funds that are contributed can only be used by Memorial Hospital. This feature is the bedrock of MHF because it assures all donors that their giving will stay right here in our community to be used by our hospital to provide outstanding care, and to promote wellness activities and programs for all our citizens and visitors. Please contact us if you are interested in a particular giving opportunity, to register for an event, to be included in our honor role of donors or to share any questions or thoughts.

Foundation Board


  • Foundation Board Chair: Linda Terry
  • Vice Chair: Christopher Perley
  • Treasurer: Linda Terry
  • Secretary: Corinne Ray

Board Members

Stephen Boyle
Stephen Boyle
Rachael Brown
Rachael Brown
Greg Frizzell
Gregory Frizzell
David D H Hoeft
David Hoeft, DPM
Michelle O’Donnell headshot
Michelle O'Donnell
Chris Perley
Christopher Perley
Corrinne Ray
Corinne Ray
Tim Scott
Timothy Scott, CFRE
Linda Terry
Linda Terry
Christine Thompson
Christine Thompson

Ex Officio

Bradley J. Chapman, FACHE
Bradley J. Chapman, FACHE

Contact Us

Dawn Morrison
Development Director
603-356-5461 ext. 2269

Carrie Burkett
Communications & Development Manager 
603-356-5461 ext. 2264