Skip to main content

Accreditation and Awards

The Joint Commission Accreditation

Spring Harbor Hospital a "Top Performer"

Spring Harbor Hospital has been recognized as part of The Joint Commissions 2015 annual report America's Hospitals: Improving Quality and Safety for attaining and sustaining excellence in performance. The Joint Commission's Top Performer on Key Quality Measures® program recognizes accredited hospitals that attain excellence on accountability measure performance.

Out of the 10 hospitals recognized in Maine as top performers, Spring Harbor Hospital was the only one recognized for psychiatric measures.

About Accountability Measures
News Release


Our clinical staff are frequently on the cutting edge of research in the mental health and developmental disorders fields.

Our Recognition

As part of the Maine Behavioral Healthcare Network, our programs and staff are the proud recipients of a number of local, regional, and national awards of excellence.

Spring Harbor Hospital has received the Gold Seal of Approval from The Joint Commission. The Joint Commission is an independent, not-for-profit organization that sets the standards by which healthcare quality is measured in America and around the world.

To maintain and earn accreditation, organizations must have an extensive on-site review by a team of Joint Commission healthcare professionals at least once every three years. The purpose of the review is to evaluate the organization’s performance in areas that affect patient care. Accreditation is awarded based on how well an organization meets The Joint Commission standards.

A list of accredited organizations, including Spring Harbor Hospital, is available on The Joint Commission's web site at You may also call the Customer Service Department directly at 630-792-5800 for additional information.

Safety and quality care is a priority for Spring Harbor Hospital. If you have a concern about the safety or quality of care provided by Spring Harbor Hospital, you have the right to contact The Joint Commission toll free at 800-994-6610. This hotline is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week; it is staffed weekdays 8:30 am - 5 pm Central Standard Time.

  • 2015: Spring Harbor earns Top Performer recognition from The Joint Commission.
  • 2012: Dr. Bruce Chemelski, Senior Psychologist in the hospital's Developmental Disorders Program, was named Special Education Therapist of the Year for 2012 by MADSEC Administrators of Services for Children with Disabilities.
  • 2008: Anne Pringle, Board member, was named Volunteer of the Year by Maine Governor John Baldacci
  • 2008: Joseph Pastore, Director of Nutritional Services, wins Future Horizons Award from the National Society of Healthcare Foodservice Management (HFM)
  • $324,000 grant from the Maine Health Access Foundation to continue the hospital's pilot program to integrate mental health treatment within primary care settings in Maine.
  • $15,000 grant from The Sadie and Harry Davis Foundation to research outcomes of Spring Harbor's intensive community treatment program serving youth and families of Greater Portland.
  • $12 million grant from The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation for dissemination of research to identify and prevent serious mental illness in youth
  • $1 million donation from Judy and Al Glickman of Cape Elizabeth to establish the Glickman Family Center for Child & Adolescent Psychiatry at Spring Harbor Hospital
  • Nation’s Top 100 Hospitals (Maine Medical Center)
  • Joint Commission Gold Seal of Approval (Spring Harbor Hospital, Spring Harbor Counseling, and Maine Medical Center)
  • Healthcare Leaders national finalist for Top Leadership Teams in Healthcare competition (executive management team)
  • Warren Williams Assembly Speakers Award from the American Psychiatric Association (William McFarlane, M.D., director of psychiatric research)
  • GAINS Center National Achievement Award for involvement in the Cumberland County Jail Diversion Grant Program (the ACCESS assertive community treatment team for adults)
  • Johns Hopkins Department of Psychiatry’s Chairman Elkes Award for Innovation in Mental Health Services (Betty Jarratt, Maine Medical Center Psychiatric Consultation and Liaison Service)