Talk with a health educator - MaineHealth Learning Resource Center Find health information - MaineHealth Learning Resource Center

2005 Press Releases

Haynes to head MaineHealth Board

Annual Meeting held October 19, 2005

Contact: Wayne Clark, (207) 662-2196

Peter L. Haynes of Yarmouth has been elected chairman of the board of MaineHealth, a nonprofit family of healthcare services that includes hospitals, home care agencies, long-term care facilities, physician practices, and other services. MaineHealth serves the ten counties of southern, central, and western Maine. Mr. Haynes is retired president and CEO of Consumers Water Company. He has served as a trustee of Maine Medical Center since 1996, and is the immediate past president of the Maine Medical Center Board of Trustees. 

Officers of MaineHealth for 2005-6 are Sara Burns, Vice Chairman; William L. Caron, Jr., President; Francis G. McGinty, Treasurer & Registered Agent; K.C. Jones, Esq., Secretary; and Donald E. Quigley, Esq., Assistant Secretary. 

Other officers are: Francis G. McGinty Executive VP & Treasurer; Deborah A. Deatrick, MPH, VP Community Health; Paul D. Gray, VP System Planning; Robert E. McArtor, MD, Chief Medical Officer; Donald E. Quigley, Esq., VP Legal Affairs; Sue Squibb, VP Elder Care Services. 

Richard Pattenaude, President of the University of Southern Maine, and cardiologist Thomas Ryan, MD, were elected to 4-year terms on the MaineHealth Board of Trustees. 

Elected as MaineHealth corporators were Dr. John Allyn, Beth Newlands-Campbell, David DeLorme, Beth Dobson, Charlie Eshbach, John Fridlington, Dr. Stuart Gilbert, Shawn Gorman, Dr. Charles Grimes, Jeannine Guttman, Elizabeth High, Esq., James Konkel, Larry Ladderbush, Alan LaPoint, Michael Niles, Dr. Katherine Stoddard-Pope, and Dr. Michael Taylor. 

New trustees of MaineHealth member organizations also become corporators of MaineHealth: Brenda Keene and Margaret Roy, HomeHealth - Visiting Nurses of Southern Maine; Peter Chapman, Larry Farmer, Dr. Ola Melhus, and Wendy Penley, Western Maine Health Care Corporation; William Burke and Ward Graffam, Maine Medical Center; Edward J. McGeachey, III, Maine Physician Hospital Organization; Lester Hodgdon, Spring Harbor Hospital; Nancy Hanson, LincolnHealth – St. Andrews Campus & Healthcare Center. 

Health Information

110 Free Street | Portland, Maine 04101 | (207) 661-7001